What Should I Do If Someone Hits Me in My Rental Car in FL, and They Do Not Have Insurance?

Car accidents are always stressful and scary, regardless of the circumstances. But it can be more nerve-wracking when the car accident involves a driver in a rental car that was hit by another driver who does not have auto insurance coverage. Besides worrying about the medical expenses, vehicle damage to the rental car, lost income, and other related expenses, you also must worry about recovering compensation to cover the loss you incurred in the crash.

While all drivers in Florida must carry the proper auto insurance coverage in case of accidents, this does not mean that all drivers follow this law.

Understanding Your Insurance Coverage Options After a Rental Car Accident

If an uninsured driver hit you while you were driving a rental car, you have a couple of options:

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage

As mentioned previously, all drivers must carry proper auto insurance, and this includes PIP. This covers you regardless of who caused the car accident. When you report the accident within 14 days of the accident date, PIP coverage will pay up to $10,000, which can include 80% of medical bills resulting from the crash and 60% of lost income.

Property Damage Liability (PDL) or Collision Coverage

If you maintain PDL (required in Florida) or collision coverage (optional), these may cover damage to the rental car, depending on your policy’s terms and conditions.

Underinsured or Uninsured Coverage

Like collision coverage, underinsured and uninsured coverage is optional. If you have either, it will pay for injuries, future medical bills, and lost income you sustained in the rental car accident. Take note, though, that these will not pay for damage to the rental car.

Your Credit Card Company

In most cases, people who rent cars using their credit cards may automatically have auto insurance. Depending on your credit card company, you may be covered for damage that your rental car sustained in an accident involving an uninsured driver. On the other hand, you’re on your own and must pay for your own medical bills if you suffered injuries in the same accident because credit card companies don’t provide liability coverage.

File a Claim Against The Uninsured Driver

If the damages you suffered in the crash exceed your $10,000 PIP limit or if you want to pursue damages, such as pain and suffering, you can consider filing a claim against the at-fault driver.

Speak to an Experienced Boynton Beach Car Accident Lawyer Today

Getting into an accident while driving a rental car and finding out that the at-fault driver doesn’t have proper auto insurance can be overwhelming. This is especially true if you suffered serious injuries or damage to the rental car. To help you better understand the insurance coverage options that may apply to your case and your chances of securing compensation from the at-fault uninsured driver, reach out to the Boynton Beach car accident attorney of Demand the Limits right away.

Please schedule a free case review with one of our Boynton Beach car accident attorneys by calling 561-600-3555 or filling out our online form.

Previous Post
What to Do If I am Involved in An accident with My Rental Car in Boca Raton?
Next Post
Steps to Take Immediately After a Pedestrian Accident in Florida

    Recent Posts